I have a tough decision ahead of me.(job related)

Nebraska_SHO

Established Member
I am 21 years old, have been working at my current job for 3 years now really only 2 the first year, was my last year in college. It is in sales, I have worked my way up from the very bottom. (Part-time front office, part-time in a department, full-time in a department, 2nd assistant manager, and where I sit now as a 1st assistant manager) I do like my job and the company itself, the problem lies in the income. When things were good I average about 55-50 hours a week and gross roughly $30,000 a year. If I were to take my next step as a department manager I would gross $45,000-$60,000 a year. If I wanted to I could also get into the general management running a store with the possibility to make $100,000-$120,000 a year. Most of the management income is based off bonuses 4 during the year and 2 in February, my weekly income is $475-$350 depending how many hours I get.

Now the tough part I was recently offered a job at a steel mill (Nucor-Vulcraft) This is a tough physical job, its hot and fast pasted, I know I could do it and move up the ladder their also. They make good money the entry level is $45,000-$55,000 gross, taking home $700-$900 a week. If I were to move up in that company I would max out with my degree at about $130,000 a year.

My degree is nothing special just a 2year from a local college in Social Sciences but I have one and that’s what they want. :read:

IF YOU WERE IN MY SHOES WHAT WOULD YOU DO, thanks fellas

F8LBITEva

Alexis Texas' #1 fan
Established Member
the only way to get a jump in salary is to switch jobs. if you stay at one place they hardly ever give you an increase in pay.

dtheo

FUBAR Enforcer
Established Member