How To Replace Brake Pads?

2xlr8

Established Member
Calgary, Canada - summer is too short here!
Does anyone have detailed instructions for the neophyte on how to replace the Cobra brake pads? (I've never done any brake work before!)

I had some HP + pads installed for roadcourse racing and they work great. Unfortunately they squeak badly and I'd like to run with stock pads while on the street if it's not too much trouble to change the pads.

Thanks in advance!

:shrug:

94SVT Coupe

Ford Fanatic
Established Member
Front only or both? The front is cake. The rears are tougher.

Front, just take off the e-clip holding the pin at the front of each caliper. Knock the pin out, then just pivot the caliper up and out of the bracket. Swap out the pads. Put it back on, don't forget the anti rattle clips on the edge of the pad. I'd get replacement hardware from NAPA for new pins, clips and anti rattle clips to put it back on, but that's me. You could reuse the old ones.

2xlr8

Established Member
Calgary, Canada - summer is too short here!
Thanks for your help.

I would also like to swap the rear pads. From your note it sounds as though the rear pads may be more of a challenge.

Any tips on the rear?

Special tools needed?

Thanks again for tolerating newbie questions.

94SVT Coupe

Ford Fanatic
Established Member
The rear pads take a caliper tool if the new pads are too thick. The piston turns to move it in, you can't just push it back with a big c-clamp or whatever. Leslie sells one that Pepboys has. It loks loke a 1/2 thick round piece of steel with a socket hole in the middle and two tetth sticking out the turn the caliper. It's still a pain, but you probably won't have to turn it much.

sonic77

Established Member
Here's a pic of the tool I use for the rears. Those pistons are a real pain to turn without it!

temjin9876

Bringer of Destruction!
Established Member