hey newbie here a couple irs questions

steves86ta

Established Member
Hey guys I'm new to the site. Unfortunately i do not have a real cobra. But I did just purchase a,00 gt that has cobra front and rear bumpers (99-01) it has the cobra side view mirrors, front brembos (i think from a cobra r) and a irs in it. I do not know the previous owner and know no history on the car. But for 1k I could not pass it up. My question is how can I tell what year the irs is out of? It does have 3.90's and from the research I have done there is a brace that only came on 03-04's? I might be wrong. I tried to snap a picture of it if this will help identify what it is from. also for a pretty much stock dd that has a programmer, Cai, gears and orh/cat back. It will see the drags every once in a while and dd every o ther day. Would it be wise to just buy a cover brace and keep the irs or build a sra and sell the irs?
Thanks for your help
Steve

Here are the pics

IMAG0163.gif

IMAG0164.gif

99COBRA2881

Piss on Fox Sports1
Established Member
Welcome to SVTperformance.

That's not a '99 IRS diff brace, the '99 diff brace doesn't connect to the pumpkin it just crosses underneath the diff to the other side of the IRS subframe.

That doesn't mean the previous owner didnt swap in a 03/04 diff brace to an earlier IRS.

Wheel hop kills the stock half shafts. Pay attention and lift off the throttle as soon as the rear starts to shake.

steves86ta

Established Member
Thanks for the help though... So it does have an 03-04 cobra brace? Also anything else I can take apart or look at to try to figure out what it is out of? Also any idea of what it should run just an idea?

SonicBlueOval

Established Member