Help Replacing Valve Cover Gasket

Ziris

Established Member
Hi Guys,

Got my car back from the mechanic today and he said the valve cover gasket has a small leak.

At the point where the cover is sitting on there lose but can't get enough clearance to get it out!!

In the picture below the black tube seems to be in the way and can not figure out how to disconnect it.

4623526950009_large.jpg

using the Haynes manual and just can't see how to disconect that or am I missing something else? This should have been fairly easy just towards the back it seems to tight.

Thanks for any help!!

whtcobra1998

Jet Powered
Established Member
yeah its tight, its your clutch cable. some mechanic if you have to do it for him. disconnect your clutch cable, get alot of beer and have a blast of time doing it, and than get a new mechanic and burn the haynes manual. than the best time is resetting your clutch quadrant. sorry i work as a tech and hate diy guys that try it, and it still leaks since something moved or got cut when reinstalling, and than take it to a tech in pieces to finish.

WhiteFoxGT

Resident Ford Tech
Established Member
ha, well I agree with this guy (5yr ford tech here), but the driver side isnt that bad. Passenger side is a bitch. The clutch cable is simple really, its a tiny ass screw that holds it in you just gotta pop the cable off at the quadrant. Slip the one end off the fork on the trans and it becomes cake. From there its pretty straight forward.

my94pony

addicted
Established Member
is this really that hard or pita? im gonna do this tues when i change my cam covers to black ones i just got

PSUCOBRA96

Established Member
I did both sides in under 3 hours taking my time, removing the upper hat and used a jack to tilt the motor, passenger side I did in under an hour. Use your head, zip ties are your friend.

Chris _Scott

NA FTW
Established Member