Help me understand what happened here....

GRFox

Established Member
I went to the strip for the first time on June 9th.

2003 Mach 1, 5 Speed
K&N CAI
Magnaflow Catted X-Pipe and Cat Back
Diablo Predator 93 Octane Flash Tune
Semi Bald 275 Summitomos

The car went:
13.807 @ 102.74 / 2.186 60'
13.733 @ 103.15 / 2.241 60'

This past week, I put on Nitto 555r DR had 4.10s installed with 31 spline Mosers and a Cobra differential. Went back to the same track yesterday with a car that feels significantly faster with the 4.10s and hooks up hard on 275 DRs.

I had 6 Solid runs:
13.781 @ 100.81 / 2.04 60'
13.784 @ 100.97 / 2.06 60'
13.858 @ 101.37 / 2.12 60'
13.748 @ 101.39 / 2.10 60'
13.847 @ 100.66 / 2.08 60'
13.802 @ 100.89 / 2.01 60'

You could argue driver mod, I am not going to say i am a professional driver but I drive the car pretty well, power shifting every run, and Im not really sure you could shift any faster or harder with out ripping the sifter off the transmission. All of the runs above I varied the launch any where from 3000rpm to 4500rpm, slipped the clutch, dumped the clutch, I hooked hard with the radials no matter what I did, and based on the consistency.... I don't think its me thats the problem. I shifted the car around 6500RPM on every pass.

I would have expected the car to be in the very low 13s possibly high 12s based on all the other Mach 1s out there. I am going to try and get the car on the dyno this week for a tune and see if there is an issue.

The car only has 52k miles on it. Any ideas guys?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Tommy Z

Established Member
Wish I could shed some light on this. I, too would like to know what happened since your 60 foots were better. My guess is it has something to do with the gears.

2007ShelbyCobra

Established Member