Help! I need a new job

Bandit5.4

Slow driver
Established Member
The purpose of this post is to get help or advice. Whatever I can get. Starting at the beginning, I have my degree in petroleum engineering and up until January of this year I had been working in West Texas for an E&P company as a drilling engineer. For those who aren't aware, the oil industry is not doing well right now. My company cut rigs, and then they cut employees and I was one of them. And since the economy of West Texas lives on nothing but oil, I had no other companies to go to. I sold my house, packed up everything I own and moved home with my parents in Mississippi. As of right now I'm currently living in Jackson, working at a Ford dealership, selling cars. While this may be new and interesting to me, I'm not happy where I am. I have no friends here. The people I work with, although they're car salesman, they are not car enthusiasts, and I have nothing to talk about with them and I have no one to hang out with. I'm not able to do any of the things that I enjoy doing. I just want a change. I want to do something that will allow me to live well and still have fun. I need advice. What can I do? Where can I go? I don't have kids or a wife so I can move at will. Hit me with some ideas guys cause I need a change. Thanks.

MG0h3

Established Member
Tough break man.

Maybe expand your search within the industry.

Its too bad you couldn't get another job, maybe more labor oriented, within the oil industry. They still pay great and you could slide back into the engineering position when things pick up.

At 65 my dad was driving the tool truck for a pipeline job in the montana area and was making ridiculous money.

Bandit5.4

Slow driver
Established Member