HELP!!! COBRA ACTING FUNNY

DRIVINGLESSON

Established Member
I was on my way to work this morning and downshifted to third to pass someone. The first thing I noticed was the pull wasn't as strong as usual. The exhaust sounded muffled or restricted, kinda like when you forget to turn the traction control off. The super charger whine wavers instead of the steady scream... Any thoughts ???

What are the symptons of clogged cats???
Does anyone know what the factory bypass valve is set at???

coleman

Established Member
dude, i have no idea other that what you mentioned & possible belt slippage -- check for dust under the cover.
plugged cats or boost dump malfunctioning.
hard to tell & i'm no expert anyway :lol1:

do you have a good dealership in your area?

coleman

Established Member
block should have arrived yesterday ... still awaiting it's arrival.
but that isn't really the dealerships fault anyway. i think they are in the dark just like me :(

anyway, the block is due any day & then DSF will start the build :thumbsup:
i have high expectations but still have a few minor concerns: MAF, H/E, boost, tune, fuel system, injectors ...

let us know what you find out about your car! i hope it's easily rectified.

cobra101

Established Member
sounds like clogged/bad cats to me, but I don't know much :(

reset computer and see, just as a troubleshooting goof :)

slam

Established Member
My car had clogged cats from the factory. The most obvious thing I saw was my boost guage was pegged at 10 (no telling what it really was w/ the stock guage).

I've also heard some people's cats will glow from getting so hot.

HTH
Jason

05 Roush

Roushcharged
Established Member
Originally posted by DRIVINGLESSON
plugs - there is no sign of a miss.

I had a similar problem with power. Is your boost only hitting 6-7 PSI max? Could be a fouled plug or Coil Pack.

ur bittn

By the snake
Established Member