head gasket swap

BigRigTech

Blue blooded
Established Member
Ok, after driving my 01 for the summer I had a suspicion I may have a head gasket issue...The last few cold starts have blessed me with a coolant smell/smoke from the tail pipes.:rollseyes....It didn't overheat or anything but I've been slowly going down on coolant with no visable leaks other than the oil cooler. I'm going to bubble test the cooling system before I call a head gasket failure. Any other known issues for this scenario? I have a coolant leak at my oil cooler too (I bought the gaskets/seals for that already).

My 01 will be laid up for the winter shortly, I won't tear it apart until late winter/early spring as I hope to be working on the 32v swap into our 93 fox drag car build....I'll have the heads pressured tested, a valve grind and seals too. I'm an experienced engine builder, but this will be my first mod motor work of any fashion...Is there any good tools I could use for the cam timing? I have the SHM book....I thought I saw a tool for locking the cams or something to remove them????:shrug: Is it easier to take the engine out to do this or can it be done in the car with some patience? I'm NOT going to rebuild the bottom end with forged guts, no big plans for this car ( just lowering springs, diff bushings, new carpet) - just a good summer driver. I only put about 1200 miles on it this summer.

Last edited:

Bmeagher

Seriously Northern
Established Member
The cam holding tools are only for stock 4v motors, holds the cams in stock locationl from the rear. Get Dave Lynn to P&P the heads while they're out. He works at Harley in Bayers Lake. He has a machine shop in his basement. He already has a adapter for flow bench for these heads, since he P&P heads for Dynomight's Marauder.

BigRigTech

Blue blooded
Established Member