Has Anyone Ever Physically Prototyped Something and Went to Market?

SirShaun

Established Member
I am an IT Engineer but an Entrepreneurial goal has been haunting me for years. In short, I want to take some actions to work towards my goal of designing a successful product(s).

The material of which it will be made out of I am unsure at the moment. Originally I wanted it to be made of silicone, but due to the size, a less costly material will most likely be needed.

Has anyone used a prototyping company before to get your idea crafted? Was the cost outrageous? I am trying to determine what will be most cost effective.

A. Spend a lot of Time and Money crafting it at home, testing different materials, etc.
B. Take my idea to some people who know the ins and outs of everything comfort rubber.

Has anyone here made any large molds before? If so, what material did you opt to make the mold out of? I am thinking a big piece of Plywood and a crap ton of Modeling Clay, then pour the rubber, let it cure.

If anyone has some experience in molds/rubber and would like to help me out, it'd be greatly appreciated. I could use a partner in this honestly. If anyone is interested, send me a PM, I can work up a non disclosure, non compete agreement, have you sign it with proof of ID, and we can begin discussing my actual idea. If we end up millionaires, so be it.

DSG2003Mach1

Established Member
Premium Member
1) I would have to think a lot of these prototype places give zero ****s about the success of the product so Id be cautious of what they recommend during the process. Is it a real benefit for you or just more revenue for them?

2) Are there any business development centers in your area? I know Orlando has a lot of various programs for various stages/types of business including development assistance at greatly reduced or no costs (look for business incubators/development programs through local gov or universities)