Hand held Tune vs Performance shop tune

tooquick

Established Member
I'm new to tuning a vehicle as I have always owned fox bodys.I want to know would be better tuning my stock 2011 5.0 with a hand held tuner or taking it to a performance shop and allowing them to tune it for me with a dyno.I have looked into both but haven't decided what is better.I assume if a shop does it i'll have to take it back every time I want to bolt on or change the tune for whatever reason.Any professional info would be greatly apperciated.

chrisheltra

Established Member
I dont care for canned tunes they leave a lot on the table and are generally "in the ballpark" were as a dyno tune from a respected shop will be more spot on for your car.

Neither a canned tune or custom tune will be up to date if you start adding mods after the tune. Eventually if you mod your car enough you will have no choice but to go with a custom tune because a canned tune will not suit your needs.

Last edited:

92hatchlx

Colorado Rocky Mountain High
Established Member
Love my custom tunes from Bama performance/American Muscle. Unlimited tune revisions for life and my car runs great. Others use Lund, Blow By Racing, Amazon etc. They good also. Tuning this car is completely different from tuning the older injected push rod motors. Our sponsors have a LOT of the needed experience to play with the tuning on this motor. I'm sure some of them will step in.

AmazonTuning

SVT God
Established Member
I'm new to tuning a vehicle as I have always owned fox bodys.I want to know would be better tuning my stock 2011 5.0 with a hand held tuner or taking it to a performance shop and allowing them to tune it for me with a dyno.I have looked into both but haven't decided what is better.I assume if a shop does it i'll have to take it back every time I want to bolt on or change the tune for whatever reason.Any professional info would be greatly apperciated.

you will get differing opinions about this question