Got my gears in today

F8tlByte

colorchngnSVT
Established Member
If your not sure how exactly to do it.... Just pay the $$ and have a pro do it for u. I think (but could be wrong) its only like 200-250 for install. Otherwise, do alot of research and give it a shot

MKSVT

Dosen't Wheel Hop
Established Member
If you have never done it before, i would recommend taking it to some who has or is a mechanic..

lazerred96

Established Member
I have never done a gear swap before. I have been reading alot on it and think I could do it if I had the right tools. But I'm almost thinking by the time I buy the tools and pay to have the bearings pressed I could have paid someone to do it.

Slow95Cobra

Certified in SVT by Ford
Established Member
Gears are something that you want to have done professionally........

yup, you dont know how many people come to the dealership asking questions and wanting spec and stuff for the swap. usually in the end they bring the car with a nice "whine" in the rear end. sucks to have it done twice...

1997cobrasvt

Established Member
Do the gears yourself. Save the moeny . It is simple to do. Before I did mine I was super nervous and stuff but just follow a write up its simple. Here look at one of my olds threads read through the write ups.

http://svtperformance.com/forums/showthread.php?t=437649

Honestly if you have any mechanical inclanation you can do it.It was my first time.I have no gear whine at all. The most frustrating part is getting backlash correct. That is what took me a few hours. The rest was simple. Very simple. Make sure you have a place to get your bearings pressed. I always like to make sure I have all the proper tools before any project and have thourougly read all instrouctions. :beer: Pressing the bearings will cost you 20$ and dial indicator guage you can rent and a torque wrench. So you really dont need any special tools.Do it yourself and laugh at everyone when you have an extra $300 in your pocket! :banana:

Last edited: