Gear Pattern Good?

90FoX

Established Member
What's up guys? Just setting up my old gears after rebuilding the rear on the stang and wanted some input on the pattern I have.

Pinion depth, backlash and preloads are all correct.

These look pretty good to me but this is my first time doing gears so I wouldn't mind some input :loser:

Drive Side

20100415_245.gif

20100415_246.gif

Coast Side

20100415_244.gif

20100415_247.gif

Drive side pattern on unpainted teeth

20100415_248.gif

Coast side pattern on unpainted teeth

20100415_249.gif

She's been down since the end of dec and I want to get her out for some sun now.

Thanks fellas :beer:

cmr98cobra

Established Member
Not trying to be a dick... But how do know your pinion depth and backlash are correct? Because your paterns don't look right, Especially the coast side the drive side needs more tension on it while rotating... what that means is when you turn the pinion flange have a helper use a small pry bar on the diff to fight the direction your rotating.

But back to the coast patern... notice how it has a clearly defined triangle, their should not be any sharp edges in the pattern. It should look like the blue oval logo. Most likely the pinion depth is off.

Keep tring and good luck, but this is one place that you can not just slap it back together and say "good enough for goverment work" just a couple of thousands of an inch make the differance between a noising set or damage and perfection.

CJK440

Established Member
I agree with CMR. Ideally there should be no hard edges, the perimeter of the pattern should feather out in all directions.

But in the real world you are going to be hard pressed to get a textbook pattern, just a best case.

If it were me, I'd make some minor changes and see where it goes.

90FoX

Established Member