funny noise

saleenmark30

Established Member
I was driving my 99 cobra tonight and it started to make a funny scretching noise and I thought maybe belt. So belt dressing went on and still noise. So then I thought ac clutch or power steering. So I pulled the belt off and still noise! It is driving me nuts. And its not the throwout bearing. I hear it under the hood but it also sounds like trans noise. i tried to call my buddy who works on fords all day and he is out of town. It is driving me nuts! Now I am forced to drive my saleen explorer Xp6 lol. Which is fine but my cobra is more fun. Any help would be great I am fairly new to the sight but not to mustangs. Thanks.

saleenmark30

Established Member
It really does not change if the pedal is in like a tob. But it does change the sound when you are driving or reving. this is my first 4v. I normally have 5.0 but i wanted a change. thanks for any help you can give.

JedWele

aka "boostfiend"
Established Member
I think I have seen a post before where something to do with the timing chain tensioner going bad made that same noise. How loud is it?

saleenmark30

Established Member
It is kind of loud. If i am driving and come to a stop I can hear in the car. But it comes and goes. I have been debating on pulling the trans to see if its th tob but holding off until I am a little more sure. Its weird because it sounds high and low on the car. Does anyone know about tensioner?

saleenmark30

Established Member
Ive read a little into the past threads and none sound like the noise mine makes. I even watched some of the videos. i may try and post a video of mine to help the process. im leaning towards the tensioners but still unsure.

Slow mustang :(
Established Member
Serpentine belts are not supposed to get belt dressing.....ever.

Search the board for TOB and see if the symptoms match yours.

saleenmark30

Established Member