For all the engineers...

HYBRED

That Just Happened
Established Member
I get a PM every week or two from prospective or current engineering students asking general questions about the degree, career opportunities, etc. After spending a good bit of time on this particular response, I wanted to share it with the rest of yall. The questions addressed were:

How is it working in the real world of engineering? What opportunities are available? Do you like what you do? Etc.

The more I work, the more I find that "engineering" is about as broad as business, as far as opportunities and job descriptions go. I'm an applications/design engineer; I design and modify parts to fit customer specific applications, including pressure, weight, loading, environment, and fitment with existing parts and tools. My boyfriend is a field engineer; he designs procedures for and oversees offshore oil equipment installation. I worked an internship as a manufacturing engineer, solving problems and improving efficiency on an assembly line.

The best advice I can offer is to work as many internships, coops, apprenticeships, research assistant positions, etc as you can. Experience as many different kinds of engineering as possible. I'm not talking about Chem E, Electrical E, etc., I'm talking about manufacturing, projects, design, R&D, field, whatever you can find. Work experience is by far the most vital key to getting a job post graduation. Don't sweat your GPA - mine wasn't exactly stellar, but with 1.5 years work experience at graduation I was getting calls from all over the place for possible positions.