• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

Flashing check engine

Discussion in 'Tuning À la carte' started by old01cobra, Jul 28, 2019.

  1. old01cobra

    old01cobra Member Established Member

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    IL
    messing around with the car yesterday. Tuned blower built etc. brought it out to 7500ish and noticed the check engine light flashed. Not sure what it means drove fine home etc did another pull all was good. 01 cobra Eeec module. All check engine light stuff disabled. Tuners busy so it might be awhile till he gets back. Can they tune a over rev, knock detection etc on these or was it a fluke or possible misfire it was running strong. I had the Sct x4 running when it happened. Thanks for the help or ideas
     
  2. slo984now

    slo984now AKA 01yellerCobra Established Member

    Messages:
    14,951
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    Scan for codes. My guess is it was a misfire. If it set a hard code it'll be there even when the light is off.
     
  3. DSG2003Mach1

    DSG2003Mach1 Well-Known Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    8,607
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Central Fl
    Not that there can't be other reasons but the one I'm familiar with that will cause a flashing check engine light is a severe misfire
     
  4. old01cobra

    old01cobra Member Established Member

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    IL
    Its weird thing runs fine. Maybe it was a misfire up top I guess I never really took it out that far before with the blower on it. No faults stored. You guys run into misfires like that on your setup? The blower thing is new with me never had this happen before.
     
  5. decipha

    decipha Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    654
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    are u sure it wasnt the upshift lamp?

    a misfire keeps it on and u would have felt it

    it also common when your logging with an xcal the gauge cluster can sporadically freak out nothing to worry about
     
    old01cobra and DSG2003Mach1 like this.
  6. BlckBox04

    BlckBox04 I am the liquor Established Member

    Messages:
    4,720
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    your plugs could be gapped incorrectly causing a misfire
     
  7. old01cobra

    old01cobra Member Established Member

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    IL
    Everything appears to be fine. Pulled all the plugs on the pass bank and cylinder 5 looked the worse (minor fouling that came right off) but wasn't horrible the other three were nearly perfect. Got about 1000 miles now with the blower.

    Still had the original 01 cobra coils on the car so for the hell of it I put new OEM 13/14 GT500 coils on it with new plugs on all eight, tr7's gapped at .017 (e85). Cylinders 2 and 5 were the ones with minor fouling nothing crazy, all the plugs look a lot happier with the blower now compared to when it was just NA. I think with the cams the blower is acting like a crank pump on the back side of the rings now helping with oil control more, its interesting. Im now seeing nearly no blow by now and the oil consumption is less also as the catch cans are just misted. Compression was fine on all eight and the cylinder leakdown is still holding at 0 percent as its always been.

    Only strange thing I noticed now that Im looking at it is the drivers bank at idle does have a tendency to run rich as the STFT's are pulling fuel its bouncing at 0.78-0.86ish (mostly sitting in the 0.78-0.82 range) only at idle. The fuel pressure regulator is on that side. The pass side is 0.96-1.02 ish at idle. Under minor load they both pretty much mirror each other like they should 0.98-1.06 as well as full load. Not sure why its seeing enrichment on that bank. I have a 98 style fr500 intake on it with the idle air valve off on the drivers side sitting right above cylinders 5+6 (so its not the same as the 01 style). Maybe its just the airflow with the blower and intercooler along with the idle air valve not being on the throttle body. Or its just a bad idle set in the tune. Its running way too well for timing to be off and im not getting excessive fouling like a injector etc. I stopped driving around with the SCT x4 hooked up all the time just when I want to log because I noticed the cluster sweeped a few times and the check engine flashed again just cruising.
     
  8. old01cobra

    old01cobra Member Established Member

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    IL
    Fixed I swapped the power and ground connectors when I had the msd box off. What a idiot I am. You think they would make the connectors different.

    I’m surprised the miss didn’t show up during the dyno. It was running so good on 7 cylinders crazy. She’s gotta be making way more power now since she found another cylinder lol 700whp on 7 cylinders she’s gotta be close to my goal now.

    Damn cams are so lumpy I couldn’t tell it was missing.
     
  9. decipha

    decipha Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    654
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    I know how you feel. I had 2 injectors and 1 coil unplugged on my harley truck the first time I drove it and with the cam in it I had no idea it was only running on 5 cylinders. Didnt help that I had street tires on it and any tap of the throttle she would loose traction. I run E85 as well maybe its the fuel.
     
  10. old01cobra

    old01cobra Member Established Member

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    IL
    Sucks indeed. Dyno session about 500 600 miles on it like this.... Now I’m worried about the cylinder on 5. I hope it’s not washed down. Really depressing if it is. I drove it seems fine but I didn’t have it in me lastnight to do a compression test or leak down. Hopefully the eec v modules pull injector actuation when misfires are detected. I know the benz crap I work on does.

    I’ve got that lump in throat feeling.
     
  11. decipha

    decipha Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    654
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    no it does not kill the injector pulse unless set up in your tune to do so which is very unlikely

    on my truck I only found the coil unplugged after I was told she was shooting flames out the exhaust during a throttle wrap The other two injectors unplugged I didnt find til i changed the spark plugs after break in. My engine was fine yours will probably be too.
     

Share This Page