First trip to the track (Baytown, Texas) in a manual car

old_goat

Established Member
Basically a newbie here.

Now you guys know I'm going to take Lil Pony to the track. Hell, we all know that.

Everything I've learned racing my 2005 A4 GTO, 09 A6 Vette, and 09 A6 G8 GXP goes down the drain racing my 2013 M6 Mustang GT.

What did I learn from my GM autos? A lot was learned about the whole scope of racing street cars. Yes, I learned well. Well enough that on two occasions my GTO was number 1 in the bolt on class with a 12.12, my Vette was at number 4 on the LS3 showroom stock category with a 12.15, and my G8 GXP is still the fastest bolt on G8 with an 11.91 and ran a bone stock 12.93. So, in this context, I know my way around the track with an auto. However that was then, tonight is now.

Will the car wheel hop, what do I launch at, do I dump or slip the clutch, will I shift properly shift or miss a shift, will I be able to get a good launch with 3.73 gears, will I shift at the right time and avoid hitting the rev limiter, etc. It's a whole new ballgame.

I set a goal with my GXP and it was a bone stock 12.9x, and I reached it on several occasions. So, my goal for Lil Pony will be a 12.8. It will probably take a night of good and negative DA to reach it. I have no doubts about Royal Purple Raceway and the track prep.

The only prep I will do is lowering the rear tires a bit and take out the spare tire and tools. After that, it's time to race.

In order to get the 12.8x timeslip, I have my work cut out for me. I do think the engine and car has the ability, but do I as a driver have the ability?

I'll let you guys know what happened.

I'm pretty nervous about this. It's like spending some 'very intimate' time with Beyonce instead of a blow up doll, a whole new ballgame.

Last edited:

blkstang302

Established Member
I've ran at baytown a couple times...