First time using Clear Kote: Results

jpk

Established Member
cobra1.jpg

cobra2.jpg

jpk

Established Member
OK, here are my impressions of Clear Kote. I'm not an expert detailer and I just want good looking paint.

I washed the car with Meguiar's Gold Class wash (two bucket method). I used Spree's method of hosing down with no nozzle to sheet the water off and then I just clay bar'ed the hood with the Mother's Clay Bar. Then I put on the Clear Kote Vanilla Moose Wax Hand Glaze and then the Clear Kote Carnuba Max as the topper on the hood. I did everything by hand, no buffer.

I previously used the Clear Kote Moose Wax (not the Carnuba Wax) on my wife's Exlporer Sport Trac. I found that stuff was very easy to apply and remove and didn't leave any white residue. But it left an oily feel to the paint and honestly didn't shine as much as regular old Mother's Carnuba Cleaner Wax.

This time on my Cobra I found the Vanilla Moose and the Carnuba Wax both apply incredibly easily and leave a very slick, not oily, result. The paint feels great. The products combine to hide very minor swirls, but don't expect to polish out anything more than the faintest spiderwebs. I espeically like how easily the products come off and don't leave any white residue. I have previously used Meguiar's Gold Class and there is no comparison. the Clear Kote feels much slicker and comes off cleaner. But does it shine better?

OK, but here's the rub. In the pictures above, I only used the Clear Kote system on half of my hood! The other half was only washed and clayed! I will leave it to you to figure which half was glazed and waxed and which has absolutely no product on it at all.