Few questions about 01 cobras

Kabuki_notch

Established Member
Hey all, I just sold my 93 cobra and am going to be in the Market for another ride in the Spring. I have been tossing the Ideas of an 01 cobra, 03/04 cobra, or an 05+. I havent completely decided what I want but I dont think I want to spend 20K+ on a car at this point in my life and I have been following ebay to get an idea of what 99 and 01's go for which seems much more like my price range. I am new to the Modular thing I have owned 5 foxes, What sort of things do I need to be looking for on these cars when shopping? I saw the sticky with the 99's and the intake hones. But what other things if any are these cars notorious for? or should I watch out for? Thanks for any help.

-Rob

Rotzs99

Established Member
If i were you. I would look for an 01 with a teksid block. Nothing wrong with a 99, but 01s got a few more goodies from the factory than us.

slonech

Dark Side
Established Member
yup.. if given the choice i would recommend an 01 over a 99, nothing wrong with either, but i like the idea of the inserts in the seats... as stupid as that may sound.. and i like the look of the wing a lil better.

Rotzs99

Established Member
High Five!
blog_highfive.jpg

VirtualSVT

lolololololololololol
Established Member
01's are slower.*

Better seats if you like them. 31 spline diff/axles if you want to keep the IRS.

Rear bumper says COBRA.

*opinions may be biased.

brkntrxn

Inappropriate Motorsports
Established Member
Well, I have one of each..... I also posted pics of the differences in the interiors on one of the stickies.

Get an 01 (the seats and halfshafts are worth it), unless you can come across a good deal on a 99.

CobraG

Established Member
Whhheeewww, I thought this was going to be another one of those threads, glad to see it's not.