Exhibition of Speed

powerwhee

Established Member
Background: I drive a automatic v6 mustang that I've been driving for 3 years, driving in total for 5. No prior tickets on my record. The officer did write 35 in a 35 on the ticket. He did not read me my miranda rights. I was wondering what an officer thinks of this defense and if it would hold up in court. Am I coming off as a prick who thinks he knows the law and is trying to teach the court room? I am in my senior year finishing up my business law degree, so I do have a little knowledge in the field. Thanks for your responses.

Hello your honor,

To start my defense I would like to ask Officer Carlos a question, if possible?

Officer Carlos did you ever tell me that I have the right to remain silent after you handcuffed me? (NO)

I would first like to start my defense by stating that a key procedure required by law, the reading of the Miranda Rights to a person under custodial interrogation, was not done by the arresting officers. Officer Carlos just admitted to not ever telling me I have the right to remain silent, 1 of the 5 parts of the Miranda Rights. He did tell me immediately that I’m under arrest and placed handcuffs on me as soon as the interaction between me and both officers began.

I have filed a complaint with the LAPD in regards to this misconduct and the failure of both officers to adhere to the policies set in place by litigation to ensure my constitutional rights are upheld.