Exhaust Installation?

stmoney11

DSG Lightning
Established Member
I just ordered the full Bassani Exhaust from LFP, it's supposed to get to me by the middle of next week. When it comes to working on cars I am a novice, I can change my own oil and do minor things, but I've never attempted an install quite as involved as this.

My question is should I take it and have it done by an exhaust shop (it will be expensive) or do I attempt this myself. I have a buddy that knows his way around cars, but he isn't used to working on Fords so I don't know if he'll be able to do this. Does anybody have estimates as far as how long it would take to DIY. Or how long it would take a competent exhaust shop to do the work(and how much $)?

Thanks for reading my post, all responses are greatly appreciated.

Fade 2 Black

Gen 2 Diehard
Established Member
The Bassani headers are the most difficult to install out of any. You would really be better off with longtubes but that's up to you. As far as time, plan on at least a day-two to be safe. Your buddy should be able to handle it, a car is a car pretty much. With the two of you it might go quicker but I spent a night and most of the next day doing the install on my Dynatechs, taking my time. Good luck!! I know you'll love the sound and that all the effort will be worth it in the end.

SVT99RED

Established Member
Thats crazy fade i started mine at night and finished in 1/2 of the next day... I thought shorties would be easier cause you have less header to try stuff in a quater size hole... I actually had to loosen up my trans and jack up on it to lift the motor to get my pass side in... ne-ways it is really up to you, I think anyone can install them.. Just make sure you pull you 2 front wheels and the black plastic fender walls..

nastynivek

Nov. 10, 1775
Established Member