Enigneers... A few questions about your work.

About2bite

SVTNProgress
Established Member
What do you do? Specific
How do you like it?
How long have you been doing it?
Do you switch from company to company or have you been with the same company for quite a while?
Is there a different area of engineering you wish you would have gone to school for?

I'm looing into mechaincal engineering and it seems like everyone I talk to says the job is boring as well as a lot of the people, I don't agree lol but I figured I'd ask.

I've been swictching majors forever and I need to stick on track with this if I do it or I won't be done with school until I'm 40 :nonono:

Appreciate the info,

Josh

Blue Blitz

Established Member
Your job depends on what you make of the degree. There are boring jobs out there but there are decent ones as well. I'm a Mechanical Engineer from Texas A&M and I graduated last May. Started working for an offshore oil/gas company and I like the work pretty well. Has boring parts writing procedures etc but I get to go offshore (good and bad). Offshore definitely breaks up the monotony of office life but it also keeps you away from everyone and can get boring out here with little more to do at times than watch movies and play on the web unless you're needed. I've been doing it for about 1 1/2 years so far. I wouldn't have gone to school for anything else personally.

As far as specifics of my job?
Project Engineering for a subsea installation company that installs everything related to field development in the Gulf of Mexico primarily but have boats currently across the globe. I help with planning of the projects and writing of the procedures. Then I watch items as they are built and tested and acquire the equipment needed to install. Clients tell us what they expect and often supply the majority of the equipment to be installed and we perform the installation of their field.

William

HYBRED

That Just Happened
Established Member