Emissions for California?

LaffnJack

Established Member
I am new to the Lightning, althought not to SVT. I sold my '98 Cobra a month ago to get the down on a '04 L. My question is what aftermarket parts are going to cause problems with having the bi-yearly smog check? I know that Cat-backs are fine as well as drop in air filters. But which CAI kit, if any, has a CARB number? Also what about upper plenums and SBTB? Are there any with a CARB number or are 50 state legal? And while I am asking, does anyone know a good tuner/performance shop in SoCal.

Thanks in advance,
-J-

Last edited:

CHUXSVT

HELL YEAH I STREET RACE!
Established Member
my truck is tuned by DANNY SWANSON. bad ass tuner
SWANSONPERFORMANCE.COM
my truck is making 579 flywheel hp on a ported eaton, built by MSX.

Last edited:

Lightningfr

Banned
k%n had the only carb exempt intake when i looked a while ago..
thats what i use...
short header are carb ex so is cat back...
and the bbk TB are ex... its just a VISUAL INSPECTION! #$%^*&(

Nvr_Spds

Pushrod > 4v
Established Member
If im not mistaken, your truck isnt bi-yearly for smog. Its a new vehicle, so it should be 5 years i believe.

I'D WIN

Established Member
Legislation enacted during 2004 made several changes in motor vehicle Smog Check exemptions that will become effective next year (2005).

Following is a summary of the revised exemptions and the effective date of each change:

More information can be found by using the following links:

Do I need a Smog

Vehicle Smog Inspection Chart

inuswo

Hopeless SVT Fan
Established Member
Being that Im rolling the L to cali in about 3 weeks, im working on saving up a couple hundred to get a chip and probably seeking a tune from Greg at RET. I've followed that guy's work commentaries through SocalHP and it seems like he really knows his shit.

I cant wait :)

LaffnJack

Established Member