Electrical Voltage Drops

Coderedsaleen

GTPerformance
Established Member
took my car to the dyno today and here is a problem that we ran into. I hope someone will be able to help out?

We ran the car on the dyno and during a pull, at 5150 rpms, voltage dropped to 10.5 volts on the laptop, which in turn makes everything else go haywire. We put a voltmeter on the back of the alternator to make sure that it was not the problem. We did another pull and once again the voltage on the laptop dropped and the same mess again. The voltmeter attached to the alternator dropped to only 12.3 volts. This should rule out the alternator? So the question is what would make the happen and how can I fix it?

Here is a pic of the mess during the pull. Check out that crazy horsepower line, LOL.

SSPX0401.gif

spincobra03

Established Member
I work as a control technician and not being there makes it difficult to say but with the info your giving me, I would not rule out the alternator just yet. What are your mods? Do you have an alternator pulley on already? Whats exactly going haywire? How many volts DC are you supposed to have at full load? There are alot of possible contributing factors

spincobra03

Established Member
lol I see what is going haywire, but did you notice an issue with the car? What prompted you to bring it to the dyno? The reason I ask is im wondering if there could be an issue with his computer, or cords?

Coderedsaleen

GTPerformance
Established Member
I work as a control technician and not being there makes it difficult to say but with the info your giving me, I would not rule out the alternator just yet. What are your mods? Do you have an alternator pulley on already? Whats exactly going haywire? How many volts DC are you supposed to have at full load? There are alot of possible contributing factors

Mods: 2.8 Pulley
CAI
Ported Blower