Drummers...IN HERE!!!

nodaksvt

ehhh?
Established Member
Alright, Im in the market for a electronic drum set. Im taking that path due to the fact that my space is limited and that I live in an apartment.
I have two major contenders right now and cannot decide for the life of me which way to go. I am new to drumming, but do not want to get something that I will quickly grow out of or get tired of. SUGGESTIONS PLEASE!

#1: Yamaha DTXplorer $700
pros: price and durability (rubber snare as opposed to mesh) --comes with kick pedal
cons: not the best sound there is-- looks
540345.jpg

http://drums-percussion.musiciansfriend.com/product/Yamaha-DTXplorer-Electronic-Drum-Set?sku=490906

#2: Roland V-Compact
pro: top notch sound and quality--looks-- more realistic feel on snare (mesh head)
con:$300 more than the yamaha-- does not come with bass kick pedal (extra $50-$100)
531505.jpg

http://drums-percussion.musiciansfr...TD3SW-VCompact-Electronic-Drum-Set?sku=447838

I can afford the Roland, but amost choose not to due to the fact of my inexperience. it is at the top of my budget for this hobby.

Last edited:

FX4 SAPPER

Established Member
i think if your going to spend that much you could get an acoustic set with some silencer pads, for a hell of alot cheaper. I know Roland makes a real good setup, but isee what your saying bout the apartment, i had to get rid of my shit unfortunately, cant wait to get a house so i can suck it up big time on the real deal lol

DHG BULLITT

Try to find Mr. Warren G
Established Member
If you're going to go electronic don't sell yourself short. Step up to the Roland set that has the suspended cloth style drums all the way around versus the pads on the toms. They feel much more like an actual snare or tom head than those silly rubber pads do.