Dragstrip pointers

blueovalkid

The Snake Pit
Established Member
I will be taking the GT500 to a track rental at Norwalk Raceway Park on Sept 30th.
While I have drag raced before, I have not raced with this car yet.

I am looking for some pointers on launch RPM, shift points, and rear tire psi (Nt05R 315/35/20), and anything else to accelerate my learning curve. Thx

blueovalkid

The Snake Pit
Established Member
Off topic but maybe you can help me. How are your tires traction wise? Ever been caught in rain? I've been debating between those and 555r in a 305.

I currently run the 305 555R on the street now and IMO its a great street tire. I have only drove the car in the rain once so cant really help you there. I got the NT05R primarily for the strip after hearing poor reviews of the 555R at the strip

I havent mounted the NT05R yet, I am waiting on a set of wheels widened to 11" by Weldcraft which should be here tomorrow. So I have no experience with the NT05R yet. I will say that the NT05R are very soft and I cant see them lasting long on the street

2kmelat

Established Member
where is your rev limiter set at (that is a nice track i wanted to make it over there this year but never did)

03 KB Sonic Blue

Established Member
I currently run the 305 555R on the street now and IMO its a great street tire. I have only drove the car in the rain once so cant really help you there. I got the NT05R primarily for the strip after hearing poor reviews of the 555R at the strip

I havent mounted the NT05R yet, I am waiting on a set of wheels widened to 11" by Weldcraft which should be here tomorrow. So I have no experience with the NT05R yet. I will say that the NT05R are very soft and I cant see them lasting long on the street

Thanks for the input. With the 555r do you get traction or just spin on the street when you get on it?

blueovalkid

The Snake Pit
Established Member