Do you have a big cam, and other mods and dont have the money to have it tuned?

Boomer182

Haveyoutriedhittingher?
Established Member
Let me start by saying this is tried and tested, I have been running this plate since 2001. I have ran various combos over the years, big and small. Lets face it when you alter just about anything to the motor of a 5.0, you end up with the infamous hunting for an idle. In some cases the car will not idle at all. I will walk you through how to tune a non power added car. First off I am going to break down what the Idle air control or IAC does:

Frequently Asked Questions

Now that we have established what the IAC does and how it works, lets move onto what we can do to fix it.

You will need to buy this:
Ford Mustang IAC adjustable idle spacer kit 5.0 4.6

The IAC Spacer can be bought at most of your mustang shops.

Its very simple to install, simply disconnect your battery cable, and unplug your IAC which is located on the front of your throttle body. See pic

Google Images

Disconnect the connector this can be done with out any tools.
remove the two bolts holding the IAC onto the throttle body.

Remove the IAC and gasket.

Kit installation. Your kit will include two new gaskets, a spacer, 2 longer bolts and a allan head wrench. Remove it from the package. It will come with instructions, but they really dont help you, this is a trial and error.

It would be a good idea to go ahead and clean the IAC while it is apart. It is a two piece IAC and is held on with two phillips head screws. take it apart. It should be black from carbon build up. I clean mine with break parts cleaner, but I would suggest Throttle body cleaner, its not as harsh. I have never had any issues with cleaning my IAC with brake parts cleaner, so the choice is yours.

Next reassemble the IAC make sure its turned the right way. Its easy to get it backwards.

Installation of the spacer and IAC: