DIY blower port

TargeT

Established Member
I cant seem to turn up any with search, but i KNOW someones done it!!

All that is done by the shops who charge for it is some material removal in the compressed air side right? I've seen the pictures, doesnt look that hard..

is there any reason i shouldnt try it?

Hollowtip429

Established Member
I've read where a few people on here have done it. Don't think that I would try it myself though, but I have no experience with porting and polishing.

TargeT

Established Member
I"ve done some exhaust mani & turbo housing port/polish jobs.. never took as much metal off as i would be here though..

I'm tempted to give it a shot.. can anyone confirm that its only the "bottom" of the blower that gets material removed?

JB

beautiful loser
Established Member
TargeT said:
..can anyone confirm that its only the "bottom" of the blower that gets material removed?

I can confirm that it is NOT only the bottom that gets material removed...

93 347 Cobra

Established Member
If you have the time and don't care about possibly ruining the blower then go for it.

I still don't get it though; it's one of the cheapest mods bang-for-buck wise to get a Stieg Stage 4. With Stieg you know you're getting quality work that you're not gonna have problems with and it's gonna perform as advertised.

With the DIY job you spend hours and hours grinding and polishing on something that you're not all that familiar with. The results you get will most likely only be around half what you'll get with the Stieg IV. There's a reason why an expert like Stieg progressed in Stages from 1 upward over the years. It takes a while to learn it, even for a pro.