Devestating day yesterday

sseater

Established Member
For those who know me here in Orlando, I am a pilot. This week was the Sun n Fun air show. I did not fly down this year because i knew the weather was supposed to be shitty so i drove. Around 12pm we encountered weather that not even the computers predicted until it was too late. An F-1 tornado ripped through the flight line leaving a warpath in its place. I was in a small tent and honestly thought that i would never see anyone i know ever again. Thankfully no one was killed but what was left behind was heart breaking. I have a lot of cell phone pictures but i found a high quality video that shows the same thing plus more. Count your blessings everyone.

[nomedia="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNt1BKqF3a0"]YouTube - Thunder storm at Sun-N-Fun Air show[/nomedia]

here are some pictures of my neighbors plane on thursday... very thankful i have a hangar..

kurts.jpg

kurt.jpg

ku.jpg

kurtsd.jpg

Last edited:

u n v kenny

Established Member
Well, at first I thought this was an April Fools joke but OMG, that's SO bad! I'm glad you're safe but holy crap!

VirtualSVT

lolololololololololol
Established Member
yeah my area looks like a hurricane went through. Spent most of yesterday moving some fallen tree's out of the road in my complex.

SVT03DAL

Established Member
Is this the Sun n Fun that is held in Lakeland, FL? I went there with my Uncle one summer back in like '91 or '92. Saw a lot of amazing aircraft. Glad to hear no one was killed.

4u 2 nv

I aint nobody
Established Member
we had the same thing happen here in daytona. I also got to watch ten minutes of dime/nickle size hail pound my nice truck...lukily no dents somehow..

AND ALSO...
we had a legit fire alarm at my work and had to evacute into the parking lot...in the friggin rain for almost 45 minutes. Yes literally stand in the pouring rain for 45 minutes.

Glad your ok!

sseater

Established Member