Detailing Noob: School Me. Mineral Grey GT

massmustang02

I hate Wrist Pins
Established Member
Well guys, been reading through Show and Shine for way too many hours now and I think I've got some what of a decent starting base.

I'm new to the whole detailing aspect of things. Meaning, I've always just done the pep boys/ auto zone waxes off the shelf type stuff. I have experimented with some different things and currently using Collinite 845 wax on my Mineral Grey GT.

What I do now for prep all done by hand,

Meguiar's Gold Class Car Wash 2 buckets
Mother's Clay Bar
Rewash
2 Coats of Collinite (applied by hand)
Meguiar's Gold Class Quick Detailer

This is my best so far
6C5DA18B-5FFF-4565-87AF-00CD529890C6-59886-00001EE9B26BBF57_zps1643c47e.jpg

Through my reading so far, this is what I've come up with. Feel free to completely change and critique although I'm not trying to break the bank either.

What I am looking for is high metallic flake pop, a lot of depth in the paint, and a really "wet" looking finish to the car.

How does this sound?

PC 7424XP with white, orange, and blue pads
Meguiar's M105/M205
Poorboys EX-P
Carnuaba Wax....?

Open to suggestions.

crazycarlo

Established Member
The meguiars cutting compound is only needed if you have scratches or defects in the paint you need removed. If the paint is in good condition you may only need to polish with the XP. There are tons of products OTC and higher grades. My advice would be to check out a few dedicated detailing sites and see what you like.

Carnuba wax is a natural wax that comes from a tree. It used alot because of the shine it gives. There are also synthetic waxes which tend to last longer.

The quick detailer is only needed after the wax and in between washings to keep the car clean and slick.

massmustang02

I hate Wrist Pins
Established Member