Data logging on an 01 Cobra?

Ken01-Cobra

Established Member
Has anyone messed with data logging on the 01 Cobra? I would like to get a handle on why my car seems to not live up to it's potential, and maybe tweak it to allow it to do so.

Being a programmer, I am computer literate and have the toys to play with on the computer side. What would I need to buy to play with on the car side? What's the best software? What hardware would be required? Any gotcha's?

Any info or insight is appreciated. :beer:

Taz

Established Member
Ken,

If you're asking about OBDII data logging, there are a few PC-based scan tools out there that provide scan logs. I believe they all come with router adapters that connect to the diagnostic port under your dash, near the steering wheel.

The adapters supplied with the OBDII scanner software come in different flavors to interface with different systems: PWM (Ford), VPW (GM), or ISO (Chrysler and most imports). A couple scan tool vendors offer models with routers that will interface with all three for additional money.

Most of the less expensive scanners don't provide logging. The AutoTap scan tool is the benchmark PC-based OBDII scanner. The AutoTap unit provides logging, and everyone says good things about it, but it's fairly pricey. I bought Alex Peper's scan tool, which also provides logging, for less than half the price of the AutoTap, and I've had excellent results with mine.

If you're looking for the ability to alter the program in your car's PCM, you might look at something like the TwEECer. I haven't played with one of these, but I've heard they still have a way to go before all the ripples are smoothed out.

T-

Ken01-Cobra

Established Member
Hey Taz...thanks for the info. Yeah, I heard the same thing re: TwEECer. Do you have a website or contact info for Alex Peper?
I need to take a look at the Auto-Tap and see what all it does on the 01.