Damn! Ok guys need an opinion....

svtpolice

Si vis pacem, para bellum
Established Member
Hey guys, well I finally got a chance to take her out. I was on a lonely road in "Mexico" and ran 4th gear up in the RPMs and went to go into 5th and it wasn't there.

I have been driving manual transmissions for over 20 years. So I did it again with the same result. I even let the RPMs go down a little and same thing.

So, after some research I found a few people saying that the MGW Gen2 might take care of this and just genuinely feel like a better shifter.

Thoughts?

She will never see a track or anything, just the occasional weekend drive.

Thanks

svtpolice

Established Member
Yes sir. I backed off the throttle, I found 5th normally. As soon as I was in the throttle upper Rpms,boom 5th gear lockout

5th gear lockout

Last edited:

ShelbyGT5HUN

Established Member
I had a thread about this. I experienced lock out going from 4th to 5th. After some experimenting, I found out it was driver error. What is happening, is you are just tagging the reverse lockout, and that is the reason you are denied 5th gear. Shift cleaner, and don't "bury" the shifter "high and to the right" like you can in a 5sp car. If you do on this car, YOU WILL BE DENIED :kaboom:

einehund

Established Member
Same thing happened to me on the autobahn. WOT in 4th going into 5th and couldn't get it. It was driver error as the 4-5 shift is a different distance and angle than the 2-3 shift. You don't normally notice as you don't normally speedshift that gear combo.

svtpolice

Established Member
Same thing happened to me on the autobahn. WOT in 4th going into 5th and couldn't get it. It was driver error as the 4-5 shift is a different distance and angle than the 2-3 shift. You don't normally notice as you don't normally speedshift that gear combo.

I could see that especially given where Reverse is located in the pattern.

Thanks, Einehund

ShelbyGT5HUN

Established Member