Cut Springs = The verdict

Brad

Banned
So I'm still waiting for someone to, "correct me if I'm wrong." Cutting your springs and saying, "I go out of my way to hit bumps and whatnot and I've yet to bottom out is not an answer." Someone who really knows suspension tuning might want to chime in here. I'm no expert, but I've been told by people who know their stuff that cutting is the wrong way to do it. And based on my experience it just seems stupid. I could be wrong, cutting your springs might be great, but based on what I've been told and past experience, it's the ricer way of doing things.

2K3BRA

Established Member
Originally posted by Brad
So I'm still waiting for someone to, "correct me if I'm wrong." Cutting your springs and saying, "I go out of my way to hit bumps and whatnot and I've yet to bottom out is not an answer." Someone who really knows suspension tuning might want to chime in here. I'm no expert, but I've been told by people who know their stuff that cutting is the wrong way to do it. And based on my experience it just seems stupid. I could be wrong, cutting your springs might be great, but based on what I've been told and past experience, it's the ricer way of doing things.

I somewhat agree too.

It changes the spring completely, only springs that were designed to cut are fms springs with the cut line (dead coil). There are a lot of sites out there explaining why you shouldn't cut the springs.

But its your ride you guys more power too you. :rolling:

venomous99

Established Member
got this from another "cut springs thread"
Originally posted by venomous99
learned this from physics class in regards to springs. perhaps there are some experts here who can chime in.

K is a spring constant referring to the stiffness of the spring.
K is inversely proportional to the # of turns/coils for the spring.
so if u reduce the # of coils, ur effectively increasing the stiffness.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------