couple clutch questions before i order my clutch and flywheel.

jeffl9682

Established Member
Im doing a clutch on my car in the next couple weeks, im a mechanic so luckily i can save on the labor.
I do have a couple questions though regarding the correct parts to order.
I have a 2004 ford mustang gt 4.6 v8. I was on a few websites and they were asking input shaft diameter and either 10 spline or 26 spline shafts.
Im going to go with the centerforce dual friction clutch and a fidenza aluminum flywheel.
The fidenza only come in 11 inch so obv i order the 11 inch clutch also.

I have searched and did find some info but nothing answers my question correctly.

stangnutlx

Dreamin about Boobies
Established Member
you have a 10 spline and dont worry about the shaft diameter.

jeffl9682

Established Member
sweet, thanks man. I appreciate the fast response. and the 11" will be fine? i know there were either a 10.5 and an 11" option

usmcgtstang2141

Established Member
if u havent ordered yet check out spec clutch or fidanza clutches how much power u running with or is this just a tune up kinda job ur doing? im a mechanic too ive done plenty of clutches...my thing is if im replacing it go stronger cause u dont wanna go back in if u are building more hp

usmcgtstang2141

Established Member
check spec and fidanza for clutches too man! its not hard as long as u got the tools r u doin this in ur shop while ur up in there do ur rear main seal too and all the bearings its one of those things that u just do while ur there...and my motto is if i gotta replace it go stronger :) i have spec stage 2 in mine holds very well

Swaie

Established Member
Does the pressure plate matter, with a 10.5 or 11, or is a pressure plate just a pressure plate.

stangnutlx

Dreamin about Boobies
Established Member
Yes it matters. If you get an 11" fly you need an 11" clutch kit.

usmcgtstang2141

Established Member