Cold Air Intake?

path914

Established Member
I just bought a '99 svt last week, so I'm a little new to the scene. Anyway, I'm looking to get an intake and from the previous posts it looks like the kkm and sho shop are the recommended ones. I'm just wondering if anyone makes a decent heatshield that fits and is for sale. The only name I've heard of is John Miks and I can't find anyway of contacting him for more info. (oh yeah... I know the SS has a heatshield, but it doesn't appear to be sufficient. Am I wrong?)

Thanks

Ryan

It's Not Your Concern
Super Moderator
Yeah he makes one, but there is a guy over at CEG just pretty much made the same thing for $7.00

I couldn't find the post, but search over there....I think FCO, just upgraded there server again, and they are starting fresh again.

But just go to Home Depot and buy your own stuff. Alot cheaper.

path914

Established Member
The "$7 heatshield" was a plastic mailbox. I'm kinda looking for something a little nicer. No offense to his creativity... it's just harder to brag to my friends about a car part stolen from my neighbors' front yard. lol

Ryan

It's Not Your Concern
Super Moderator
well, it looks just like the John Mirks one, at least from the pictures I saw..........

path914

Established Member
Okay... so I'm lazy. I'd rather buy one that I know works and looks alright than attempt to make one from home depot. If you saw my "arts & crafts" skills, you'd agree. Anyway, I'm off to have my resonator removed, so I'll see if my mechanic has any ideas.

chrisilversvt

Established Member
yeah the $7.00 one looked as good if not better than the other one that was being sold for about $50...the ss one is sufficient enough,as long as the biggest part of the underhood heat is away from the filter....the one i'm making will probably be like the ss one...the other ones are basically like having an airbox,when you got an open element af to get rid of the airbox in the first place...

DemonSVT

The Mad Modder!