code?

'01 Bolt

Close The Borders!!
Established Member
No search feature..... so here goes. Check engine light came on.. so I went by Auto Zone and them read it.. This is what the slip he gave me says.... OEM number to cross PO174.
Definition.. Fuel trim bank two condition.
Explanation..The ECM detected a rich or lean air/fuel ratio condition on bank two.
Probable causes.. 1- if bank one and two are set together suspect a fuel condition or MAF sensor fault.
2. failed ho2s21
3. Ignition misfire condition.
4. fuel injector problem.
5. engine mechanical condition.

The PCM has determined that during tsting, the fule system for bank 2 was too lean. (bank 1 identifies the location of cylinder #1., while bank 2 identifies the cylinders on opposite bank.)

Truck is a 2001, stock , with 150k miles. just changed plugs about 2 months ago.. thought maybe i had a coil problem this time...? I'm NO mechanic.... what does this all say in layman terms...thanks for any help... travis

blownsvtlightning

Established Member
what that is saying is that for some reason bank 2 the drivers side bank is running lean. could be caused by several things. It is also saying that since it is just 1 bank setting the code that it is ruling out the MAF and fuel quality as possible causes, which should not be done. look for something that may be causing that bank to run lean, air leak or a restricted injector.

throttle jockey

Stock Block 11 Sec. Club
Established Member
Under what driving conditions is your truck stuttering and bucking (at idle, cruising, WOT)?

To check for vacuum leaks do a careful and thorough inspection of all of the lines in the engine bay. Look for any that may be disconnected or damaged (dry-rotted, cracked, etc). Re-connect/replace if necessary.