Cobra Swap Tuning Help!!

Beaststang92

Established Member
I just recently swapped a 98 cobra engine in a 97 gt and am using the gt harness and computer and need a tune. I have long tube headers and CAI and full exhaust as well. What i need to kno is what kind of tune do i need, where to get it and whats the best deal i can get? Any help would be very much appreciated im kinda new to all the tuning and jus wanna get the max potential out of my engine with the mods.

01yellercobra

Established Member
A local tuner here charges $350 for a tune if you already have a hand held. I imagine if you don't have a hand help then just add that to the cost.

markw351

Established Member
No American muscle will not tune an engine swap. I tried. I swapped a mach 1 motor into my
2000 2V saleen and used the stock ecu and wiring. Rick at amazon tuning sent me a base 4v tune for my SCT tuner to get the car going safely. Cars runs great. You'll have to do some data logging and e-mail him the files for him to dial the car in. Justin at VMP was also willing to tune it. I don't have a local tuner here though. If I did I would get it tuned on the dyno. I see you're in NC. You're within a short drive of a number of good tuners. I lived in NC for 15 years.

Last edited:

markw351

Established Member
Well, first you'll need a tuning device. SCT handheld. It'll run you $380ish. Never had a dyno tune done so don't know about that. I know I paid $250, I think, for unlimited revisions to my tune from Amazon Tuning. I upgrade anything, I send him a new data file and he adjusts the tune for free. I'd guess you'll pay $500ish for a dyno tune and I don't think you'll get free revisions later. Data file tuning is a little less timely and may not be perfectly dialed in but probably a better deal. My 03 cobra is tuned the same way and Air Fuel is right on and the car made 500rwhp on 91 octane with a ported blower so it's effective.

markw351

Established Member