clutch and flywheel??????????????????

Country

My Cobra is forsale
Established Member
I have to change my clutch in my 01 cobra. I'm running the stock flywheel and a spec III clutch. I now know that the SpecIII i way to big for the tr3650, after breaking the inputshaft. I did not upgrade my input shaft when i replaced it. It was replaced with a OEM shaft. I am making about 400rwhp with the 100 shot of NOS and other mods. What clutch and flywheel do ya'll think i should put in to save me from breaking my shaft again. Thanks

cobraracer46

Banned
A gorilla clutch set up will shock your driveline and brake parts so going with something like a SpecIII clutch is a mistake. If I were you, I would toss the spec III and go with a terminator clutch from Ford.

Country

My Cobra is forsale
Established Member
no one has broke their input shaft with the spec II? Im also changing the flywheel. Im thinking a Fidanza Alum.

JohnnysCobra

Established Member
Ok, Im still new at this, so could someone explain to me why the stage III is a bad choice for the car?

I have an 03/04 flywheel and stage III waiting to be installed next week. Should i reconsider?

Country

My Cobra is forsale
Established Member
The spec III is rated at 600 or 700 hp. That means it will take a shit load of tourqe before it slips. The stock input shaft is only rated at 360ftlb of tourqe. So with a few mods and a shot of nos. The specIII will shear your input shaft. You want the clutch to act kinda like a fuse. It slips to keep something else from breaking.

Country

My Cobra is forsale
Established Member
Got a combo deal. Fidanza alum. fly and f1 racing stage II clutch. I dont really know alot about f1 clutchs but i got the combo for $471 shipped. I thought it was a good deal.

Jamie R.

Established Member