Career Question

97snake

Attorney at Law
Established Member
I have a question. I am a college graduate and in 2 weeks I'll have my law degree. I'm working in a Superior Court next year here in NJ which is a one year job by statute. After that I'm considering switching over to a career in law enforcement. I would really like to stay in my county in NJ so here is my question.

I have a friend who just became an officer and he he basically got his job though his "connections" with other officers/officials. I have another friend who is in his 30's (w/ only a highschool degree) and had no connections. He had to work a few years in slums to get a job around here. Seeing as I have no connections and the salaries in most of the towns aorund where I live are very high (patrolmen max out at mid 80's-110K w/o overtime) do you think I stand any chance of getting a job w/o having to work in a slum first? Basically my biggest concern is that I have no connections.

I appreciate any info/opinions anyone may share.

Lawman85

Banned
If you really want to do the job then you will start where ever you need to. I'm not sure how L.E. is in N.J. Down here your "connections" don't really help. Everyone has to go through the same process and if they fail one section, then they are out. The only time the connections work is if you make it all the way to the end, which you are basically hired then anyway...

FordSVTFan

Oh, the humanity of it all.
Established Member
97snake said:
I have a question. I am a college graduate and in 2 weeks I'll have my law degree. I'm working in a Superior Court next year here in NJ which is a one year job by statute. After that I'm considering switching over to a career in law enforcement. I would really like to stay in my county in NJ so here is my question.