Cams and valves, cams or valves, or just one or the other?

Badasssapper67

Established Member
How does bigger valves affect what cams you choose? Maybe not at all? How much more air do they let in with the stock valves?

Eventually the Cobra will be FI down the road. I have a set of heads Im working on was thinking about going with larger valves if they'll work with a centri or turbo.

It seems like the "average" Cobra is making 550hp and I don't want to be slower than average. Advice on how valve size affects cam size is appreciated.

01yellercobra

Established Member
I'm no expert, but I would imagine they affect the cam choice. One of the things cam grinders want to know is flow of the cylinder head. A larger valve will obviously flow more. I would think you'd be able to get away with a smaller cam to make the same power. The valve wouldn't need to be opened as far or as long since it's bigger.

I do think it's a wash without a larger bore though. The valves are already close to the cylinder wall. Going bigger just makes it that much closer. I was looking at having bigger valves put in my heads, but I also had a big bore set up.

This is just my thoughts. Take them with a grain of salt.

tmhutch

4v>3v>2v
Established Member
Bigger valves are worth about 20 CFM. Compared to the effects of cam timing that 20 CFM is almost inconsequential so very little will change with cam duration or intake lobe centerline, less than 5 degrees duration or 4 degrees intake centerline. Probably a more important area to look at with these engines is the intake manifold because it is the most influential component affecting cam timing. If it's the factory intake with stock length runners than you'll be limited to 7000 RPM which means cams between 212 and 218 duration will be ideal for forced induction. If you plan on lower RPM shift points than smaller cams would be better.

98 N/A 4V

Established Member