CAI and magnaflow o/r x-pipe need retune?

MaximusDecimus

Established Member
So my 04 cobra is 100 stock except for a C&L intake and a MagnaFlow o/r tru-x pipe which I just installed. Stock cat back still on the car.
It feels like I am not getting as much power but maybe I'm wrong. I didn't think I'd need a tune for just intake tube and midpipe swap but do I actually need to adjust any parameters in the tune for this? I have never done any tuning before so help on the subject is appreciated!
Thanks!

cj428mach

Established Member
You need to check it with a wideband. If the AFR is ok then no you don't need a tune although it could throw your tune way off as well. Going from a UPR CAI on the end of a stock elbow to a JLT gen 1 True cold air my car went from an 11.5 AFR to burying the AFR gauge at 10.0. It took a retune to get to it back in. I then changed from a JLT gen 1 to a gen 2 True cold air and the AFR didn't really change much at all.

MaximusDecimus

Established Member
You need to check it with a wideband. If the AFR is ok then no you don't need a tune although it could throw your tune way off as well. Going from a UPR CAI on the end of a stock elbow to a JLT gen 1 True cold air my car went from an 11.5 AFR to burying the AFR gauge at 10.0. It took a retune to get to it back in. I then changed from a JLT gen 1 to a gen 2 True cold air and the AFR didn't really change much at all.

Are you saying i need an aftermarket wideband O2 sensor and gauge? Or can i check the reading with my stock O2 sensors reading out on the predator tuner? And was that 11.5 AFR under WOT or idle? Isnt idle supposed to be about 14.6:1?

Mystic03

Established Member
You have a stock pullied car you shouldnt need a retune for that I ran the xpipe and catback with c@l and k@n no issues 420/390 you shouldnt need a tune just for that. It may richen it up a bit

cj428mach

Established Member