Buying Truck..Need Opinions

SVTowner2B

Established Member
I'm looking at a few different trucks and I'm not sure what way to go..
Option 1
I can get an 02 with a chip, tune, exhaust, 8lb pulley, AEM intake, and 20" wheels(I'd rather have the stock wheels), that is supposedly making 426 HP at the wheels
Its blue and has 56k on it. Waiting on Pics, supposedly mint.

Option 2
2001 Red with 58k, completely stock, this truck is mint.

Option 3
2002 Silver with 43k, only mod is Flowmasters, Also mint.

The prices on all of the trucks are close.
I like the idea of having some mods already, but I'm not sure I will care for the wheels and I'm scared a modded truck will be beat on.

the other two are pretty much stock and i'm kinda leaning towards the silver truck, but of course it's the farthest away.

Since I'm new to lightnings (had 6 mustangs) i would really appreciate any advice you guys could give me, such as any difference between 01 and 02, are their certain things I should look out for (areas prone to rust etc..) and any other helpful info.

Also if I go with one of the stock trucks what are the best mods to start with and how much do they cost?
Thanks in advance everyone:beer:

SVTowner2B

Established Member
also when comparing the two stock trucks will the silver hold any advantage over red from a resale standpoint?

600RRgoal

Established Member
Personally, I'd go for an unmodified truck, or one that has only a few bolt-ons. Aftermarket pullys were a no-no when I was shopping for mine - would just like to see the engine untouched than run into suprises later on.

As far as color, I would've bought any color BUT silver (I just don't like silver vehicles in general). With that said, I'd only be looking at the red one! But if you like silver, go for it.

Edit: I don't recall any differences between 01-02.

Last edited:

SLVRBLT

Such is Life....
Established Member