buying a car after college

Ron_B

Established Member
Recently a friend of mine when to buy a new truck. He graduated about 2 years ago and and worked full time during school and for the last 2 years good enough money for a single person. He filled out the credit info and they told him he had a good credit score, but do to his student loans they could not approve him for the truck loan.(loans were for 4 years at a university, so quite a bit but not a crazy amount). keep in mind the final price on the truck was going to be about 25k + TT&L

i should add he makes more than enough to live on his own and pay all untilities, but doesnt currently have a car payment

Does anyone have any experience with this?

share your experiences buying a car after college

Last edited:

11GT50

Reality Checker
Established Member
I bought an '07 GT new before I graduated and without a cosigner. I also worked two jobs and put down $5kish.

My guess is his income to debt ratio is preventing him from qualifying.

That's exactly what it sounds like.

10splaya22

Established Member
My credit score is about 730 due to my short credit history and just financed a Tacoma with 0 down from Penfed at 1.99% for 27k. I have some college loans but paid about 40 percent off and will pay the rest of before Nov. I found the process to be very easy and I think I got approved because I have very little expenses compared to my income.

RocketSurgeon

Established Member
Graduated May 16 this year, bought my Boss on May 24. $9k down, rest at 3% for 48 but I've been making double payments so far. I had no real work history since I always sub'd construction work, but I have excellent credit and my dad put me through school so I had no debt. Brought my signed offer letter from my employer with my salary on it so no cosigner was needed.

Last edited:

70Maverick

Established Member
Why would he want to dig himself into more debt?

Hello, I'm the past 25 years of the world, have we met?

WTF???????