Business owners, investors, property managers... I need input!

MustangMike

GR81
Established Member
Hi guys.

I'm wanting to start a business. I'm a 25 year old photographer... I work for a local studio shooting school portraits, weddings, etc. I generally am on the clock 65-80 hours a week. The money is sub-par and I receive no commission. The hours are ridiculous, management is poor and I've had to sign a "no compete" contract, stating that I will not pursue any photographic business in our region for up to 3 years after I quit/get hosed.

I am to a breaking point.

My plan is to go back to college and pursue a masters in electrical engineering... that is, if my idea falls through.

I am wanting to start up a few apartment complexes throughout our city. It's not your traditional apartments. I will tell more when I've received patents on my idea.

An area of our city is solely devoted to a large university... with new students coming and going, there is a growing need for student-based housing.

These units are unique. Like I've stated, they aren't traditional.. very modern.

What route should I go to find investors? And fabrication (i.e. contractors to build units)?

I've gathered data to pitch, as far as "waiting lists" for area complexes, percentages of new students arriving to our univ. per semester, hell... even divorce rates for that part of town. ;)

I'm wanting to start small... just in case things go belly up, I have time to recuperate funds... like I said, I'm young(er).

Patent information should be coming in the following weeks... I can't wait to show you guys what I have in mind :D

Thanks in advance!!!

- Mike C.

Last edited:

usmcrebel

Established Member
Don't know about Canada law, but here 9/10 a no compete agreement holds water as well as a screen door on a submarine.
If it's your only way to survive they can't very well stop you from living.

s_x_i

Established Member