Built motor guys, please chime in

Shelbysteve

Established Member
Hey guys, Im new to the built motor world, not by choice. LMAO!!!!

I have a 2012 GT 500 that I just had a FRPP short block installed in. When I picked the car up, the guys stated the motor will sound different than stock, due to many reason. The biggest reason, being something about valve clearance or something like that. Ive never had a Mod car with a built motor, so just wondering if the noise at idle is normal. It sounds the same today after 1,000 mile as it did the moment I pick it up at the shop. Im like a nervous old man, as after spending the money on the motor, I know pay attention to every possible noise that may or may not be normal.

The engine noise is not anything like a knock or anything, just sounds much louder than a stock motor does.

Thanks guys.

ShiftyThePirate

Established Member
Hey guys, Im new to the built motor world, not by choice. LMAO!!!!

I have a 2012 GT 500 that I just had a FRPP short block installed in. When I picked the car up, the guys stated the motor will sound different than stock, due to many reason. The biggest reason, being something about valve clearance or something like that. Ive never had a Mod car with a built motor, so just wondering if the noise at idle is normal. It sounds the same today after 1,000 mile as it did the moment I pick it up at the shop. Im like a nervous old man, as after spending the money on the motor, I know pay attention to every possible noise that may or may not be normal.

The engine noise is not anything like a knock or anything, just sounds much louder than a stock motor does.

Thanks guys.

Can you record it? I would figure the 5.4l FRPP would sound the same as the stock one, as I "thought" they were the same aside from being hand-built.....? A noisy motor to me = annoying. x2 on what happened to the old motor..

ShiftyThePirate

Established Member
Maybe your just getting old.