Boosted short block

Project96svt

Big Pappa
Established Member
Im looking to boost my 96 cobra im looking to make around 600hp I was thing MMR I just wanted to know how much boost it could hold

Tabres

Not without incident
Established Member
You're lacking a lot of details there, bro.

How much boost an engine can withstand depends on a lot of things.

Project96svt

Big Pappa
Established Member
Thats what I wanted to know if I was looking for about 15 plus psi what else besides forged internals would I need

96S/Cobra

Established Member
I know nothing about MMR's engines (as in I have no first hand experience with their engines).

To safely support 600whp in your 96, this is a quick, basic list.

Your block and crank will be just fine. You need a set of rods and pistons. What compression ratio pistons will depend on what type of fi you are going to go with. I highly recommend ARP head and main studs, as well as a good quality set of gead gaskets.

Don't forget to upgrade your fuel system. This seems to get overlooked, or maybe "put on the back burner" for awhile, but it's very important to have a quality fuel system to support that kind of power, and said system usually doesn't come cheap.

I have a 96 cobra as well, with forged Mahle ceramic coated pistons (8.8:1 cr), forged Eagle rods, ARP head/main studs, blower cams, full exhaust, and a T trim with 17+lbs. I have not had it on a dyno yet, but 600+ was my goal as well, and there is no reason I shouldn't have achieved that goal. So I am speaking from experience.

SVTContique

15PSI on a T76 Turbo is much different than 15PSI on a P1SC.

Technically you need to understand how much CFM you are moving.

Project96svt

Big Pappa
Established Member
I saw in one of the mm and ff mags the 76mm turbocharged gt could push 20+ psi with a 03/04 cobra block not saying thats what I want but it would be nice to have that option.

BajaBoy

Established Member