Bleeding brakes

wudy

Established Member
I had to rebuild my PBR calipers because of a stuck piston this winter. That's all done so I had to bleed the brake lines today. I have never done it before as was worried about messing it up. It was super easy. My buddy sat in the car and did all the leg work as I did all the valve work. It took up probably 20 min. And that's taking our time and doing it twice. So easy.

Now that I'm done, I'm wondering if I should of kept going and really flush out the entire system. I filled up a small water bottle about half way. Surprised at how dark the fluid coming out and into the bottle is. I shouldn't be as the fluid is original to the car, 12 years, but the car has fairly low mileage 20k. So it really is due.

I only had 1 bottle with me. Should I just leave it with about half a bottle in? If I was to flush it out entirely how may bottles should I have on hand? Same drill start at the farthest away from the booster and work my way back? Or is there a better way?

2004cobra615

sssvtsnake
Established Member
Cant hurt to flush it all out. I would if it was my car. Get the quick bleeders then u don't need a friend or to open close open close anymore cj pony sells them. I read every 2 years change brake fluid... I used a little over a liter of fluid to flush the system. It's hard to tell when all the old fluid is out but since it's so discolored in your car that will help. Always start back passenger and work your way up. That's how u make sure to get all the air out of the system... if u have any.
No more than 20 brake pumps for back brakes and fill up brake reservoir again and only 10 for front. U don't want to get air in master cylinder because it's a pain in the ass to get the air out again. Ask me how I know....
I upgraded to stainless steel lines and hawk pads and the car really stops well now.

2004cobra615

sssvtsnake
Established Member