Better Value $41,000 for a 2012 or $54,000 for a 2013 gt500

smokin03

Established Member
I am buying one of these 2 years and cant make up my mind. A lot of good deals on 2012's low 40's and steady prices of mid 50's for 2013's. I obviously would prefer the 2013, but with such low prices on 2012's can I still get the performance after the fact to make up for the better price. Or will the 2013 just be better regardless? I am new to the Gt500 cars, but long owner's of past Cobras. thanks for your inputs.

Speedboosted

Established Member
Miles on each, along with options and previous ownership history would be good info on both. IMO, neither is a particularly good price for the car. Decent price yes, but nothing to get excited about.

Dynobrat

Established Member
You're better served going with the 2013. With future production and the way things are looking, the 10-12's will end up depreciating in value like the 07-09's. It's only a matter of time until the 13-14's are outshined and replaced and the same thing will happen all over again. The 10-12 cars aren't special enough to keep them in the 40k range much longer. My opinion, of course. I could be wrong.

you'll spend roughly 3-5k doing a blower swap with supporting mods what's another 5g for the rest of the benefits/factory upgrades?

Last edited:

GT Premi

Well known member
Established Member
There's a 95% chance you'll end up modding it in a few months. Wouldn't you rather have $13K leftover for mods? Those additional factory upgrades in the '13 aren't worth $13K in my book.

Van@RevanRacing

Buy a 2013 and with $4K in mods you can be at 725 RWHP on the Stock Supercharger. 13/14 has an improved cooling systems (track pack cars) as well as the intercooler and heat exchanger systems and more displacement and compression over the 12 models.