Better understanding gear ratios relation to horsepower

Voltwings

Established Member
Ok, so this being my first RWD performance car im still a little new to understanding gear ratios effect on performance. I understand the numbers and the relationship, a 4.10 will allow the rpms to climb faster than a 3.31 ... but i want to basically talk through what im thinking and have someone clarify for me.

Take a honda for example, small motor with not much torque and a high rpm band, it uses shorter gears to get up in that high rpm horsepower sooner ( similar to wanting a 3.73 on this car). Now take an ls3 corvette for example which comes with a 2.56 gear stock. My thinking here is that the corvette has a very broad, flat torque curve, so theres no sense in ripping through it as fast as you can, you want to ride that horsepower out (make sense?)

Basically the meat of my question is, is there an "optimal" gear ratio for a given horsepower level? i understand that may be a bit vague, and there are a ton of variables, but obviously you dont want a 4.10 on a 800 whp turbo car you know, theres got to be a breaking point somewhere.

I suppose it more depends on your powerband than your overall horsepower however (corvette vs civic again), but if anyone would like to add some insight or clarity to my question i would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

vortecd

Established Member
There is much more then just HP. RPM, torque and weight can have factors on it also

Shiken_Feddas

Established Member
There are far too many variables to just say at this hp level, you need to start using this gear. Using your own example, yes an 800+ hp car can thrive on a 4.10 gear, If its setup for 1/8 with the right trans. There are optimal gear ratios for N/A, turbo, and N2O cars. The type and gearing of your trans has a lot to do with it as well, the mt-82 vs. a t-56 for example.

But a simple answer is that most people who dd their car use a 3.55 or 3.73.

JohnRichard

MT82 Speed Shiftin Maniac