Belt slipping after throttle lift/gear change

ABlownBlueOval

Established Member
Hey guys,

Just purchased a 03 KB Cobra and want to address one issue with the car, which is a belt squeal/yelp. If I lay into the car in 1st or 2nd, when I go to up shift - lift off the throttle - I get a chirp/squeal/yelp for a brief second before I put my foot down again. The previous owner believes that it wasn't the supercharger belt, but the belt that is buried behind/under the main drive belt. Not sure what the name of it is so please answer that for me too. I guess its an accessory belt, but its hard to see what its driving and therefore, I don't know the name. I'd like to replace the belt to stop the squeal, any input or advice is greatly appreciated. I'm new to the Cobra world, but not forums or technical advice, so all are welcome to chime in. Thanks in advance.

ABBO

Midnight_Cobra

It's an Atomic Serpent!
Established Member
What's the size of the upper/lower pulley? Do you have any idlers? Do you have a dyno graph printout to see if your belt is slipping in high RPMs? Do it do it when you're at a stop and rev to like 4-5k then off the throttle?

Senkak

SVT Poster
Established Member
Hey guys,

Just purchased a 03 KB Cobra and want to address one issue with the car, which is a belt squeal/yelp. If I lay into the car in 1st or 2nd, when I go to up shift - lift off the throttle - I get a chirp/squeal/yelp for a brief second before I put my foot down again. The previous owner believes that it wasn't the supercharger belt, but the belt that is buried behind/under the main drive belt. Not sure what the name of it is so please answer that for me too. I guess its an accessory belt, but its hard to see what its driving and therefore, I don't know the name. I'd like to replace the belt to stop the squeal, any input or advice is greatly appreciated. I'm new to the Cobra world, but not forums or technical advice, so all are welcome to chime in. Thanks in advance.

ABBO