battery drain

kingcobra9450

Established Member
Whenever my car sits for more than a day and a half the battery is dead. I saw the how-to section on batteries but it didnt make sense to me and the search came up with nothing. So how can I find out what is draining my battery?

kingcobra9450

Established Member
Im not sure about the msd, its been in there ever since i bought the car 2 yrs ago and i didnt start doing this until a couple months ago. The battery is brand new cuz I originally thought it was just an old battery but it started doing it right after I put the new one in. Its in the original location under the hood.

tt54l32v

Established Member
batt draws can be very hard to find. i use an amp meter and pull fuses till i find it, then eliminate all the componets on that fuse one by one.

Finaltheorem47

I'm a Lead Farmer
Established Member
when the car is off and there shouldn't be a draw on the battery, pull one fuse at a time out, then insert the meter and see if there is a current going through it.

kingcobra9450

Established Member
Ok so i hooked up my amp meter and there is drain coming from the radio, internal ill. and the alternator. Im sure the alternator is being drain from the other two. So i looked in my manual and it seems like they have some sort of common wiring.... anyone have this problem before or have any ideas where to start?

Hockeyman48

Established Member
Alternator could have a bad diode in it. It will drain your battery.If you do not know how to meter the alt. for current draw,you can carefully lift battery wire (red) off of post on alt. and see if this stops the problem or remove alt. for testing.

kingcobra9450

Established Member
what the hell. I took the positive lead wire off the alt and there is still a reading on the alt and internal ill but not on the radio anymore. I'm way passed pissed and confused. Anyone have some insight?

UWMC_SVT

Established Member